The Liebster Award

leibster_ddd250

Basking in the mini sun’s soft glow, an insistent breeze compelled me to look around. Twisting like a leaf in a current, my gaze leapt over trees and meadows. Racing up the heights, and back down to the ants. To the depths of the birch forest in the west, and… well, to the depths of the birch forest in the east. Narrowed as my focus had been, unwilling to set aside my mini sun, a shrinking sensation crept through my limbs. Like the edges of a map unfurling, the world would keep expanding until I discovered what I was supposed to see.

Hmm, there?

A butterfly twiddling his wings on a flower?

No, no, something else.

The spherical toad, with his throat swollen from croaking?

No, still not right.

A crick bringing my whirling dervish imitation to a halt, there it was! Hovering, literally, level with my nose, close enough to sneeze upon.

Floating on the wind, which had puffed and cycloned around me with growing impatience, was something akin to my mini sun. No matter that its hues contrasted the first one, or that it presented itself with a quiet grandeur, I valued it equal to my first one.

 


 

Much to my surprise, after thinking my week was already pretty swell from receiving the Sunshine Blogger nomination, floatinggold has nominated me for the Liebster Award! I’d give you my heart overfulling with gratitude, but, well, since I kind of need my heart to survive… Instead! I’ll send you a virtual heartshaped boxed that has been magically imbued with the power to be an inbox for my eternal gratitude

Since my first week, I’ve admired her blog. From sharing a wry, witty perspective on social media, to mind tumbling questions, she offers an equal parts glass half empty/half full opinion complete with chocolatey good wisdom. If nothing else, her keen observations and thoughtful commentary on everyday trivialities will be enough to tickle your brain for the rest of the day!

Before proceeding any further, I urge you guys to check out her blog, and get to know her because she’s wonderful!

RULES:

  • Create a new post thanking the person who nominated you, link their blog.
  • Include award graphic.
  • Answer the questions provided.
  • Make a new set of questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Nominate  recently followed bloggers and share your post with them so they see it.

QUESTIONS FOR YOU

  1. Can stereotypes be good?

In my Interpersonal Communications class, one of the things that stood out to me in the book was how it covered stereotypes. To summarize: our brain makes shortcuts for everything. Paraphrasing John Watson, BBC Sherlock season 2 episode 1, “He [the brain] is full of shortcuts. He’s the shortcut king.” (Though I doubt our brains will outlive God by making shortcuts.) Getting back on topic, with these shortcuts, our brain makes flash judgements, which results in stereotypes. Fat man = loves food, doesn’t exercise. Quiet girl who never answers anyone = stuck up; or for the more understanding minds, social anxiety. In truth, I’m neutral about stereotypes.

  1. How old would you want to be when you die and why?

Well, that’s a good question. Guess the only way I can answer that is I’ll live to be as old as God allows me to be. And why am I okay with that? Because it saves me from having to debate the pros and cons of why dying at a certain age is better than another. If I had any say in the matter of my lifespan, I’d like to live at least long enough to write a novel, start a family, watch my kids grow up and then see them achieve their dreams and start families of their own.

  1. What is your favorite way of working out/ staying active?

Volleyball. Once a week, I meet with my high school friends and play volleyball. Oftentimes, I’d love to play more frequently, but I’ve started reaching the point where my body doesn’t recovery as easily from injuries and risky moves.

  1. What is one suggestion you would give to someone who wants to make more friends?

Start with small talk. Find a minimum of one thing that you share in common with them and build off of that. If its a fellow college student, ask about what classes they’re taking. Or why they’re pursuing their degree. Even ask about how they’re doing juggling work, commitments, finances, etc., along with class. In most cases, people love to talk about themselves, so if you can get them to start talking, you’ll find it easier to reach common ground. And by providing a listening ear, they’ll feel like you’re actually a good friend just from letting them talk.

  1. Would you be able to live far from civilization and why?

Yes. I have a love/hate relationship with modern technology. Life saving devices that they are, in the digital realm of speed and wanting things done now, I’m not dependent on them. My only limitation with living far from civilization is that I don’t want to be a hermit or monk (though as a female, I’m not sure I’m applicable for either) because really I’m only seeking silence and space from the rest of the world.

  1. Do you believe honesty is the best policy and why?

This comes back to my Interpersonal Communications class again. Many people say they want honesty from others, but it’s physically impossible for humans to step out of their brain’s hardwiring long enough to do that. Our brain’s first inclination is to protect us by analyzing and minimizing risks. Thus, while we might inherently believe that honesty is the best policy, our brain will always choose the answer that does the least amount of damage.

Goodness, I feel like I put my Hermione robes on, I did not start this with the intent of providing two textbook answers.

Anyway, on to my nominations.

goeverywherewithyou

mrsamuelhyde

Bittersweet Discovery

Honey Literati

Movie Ramblings

sHe desIreS TRUTH

Reusing these answers because I’m curious about what type of responses they’ll receive.

  1. If you could enter your favorite movie/book/game/tv show, but in doing so permanently replace one of the characters, what movie/book/game/tv show would it be, who would you replace, and why?
  2. What’s the one impossible thing that you won’t ever do?
  3. When you were little and people would ask you what you wanted to be when you grew up, did you grow up to be what you wanted to be?
  4. So… adulting. How goes it?
  5. If you had access to unlimited resources, tools, help, money, etc., how would you make this day great? A day that would go down in history.
  6. What’s the most fascinating piece of advice you’ve ever received?

One thought on “The Liebster Award

  1. You are too kind with your intro. Really appreciate all your words of encouragement.
    Your answers were perfect. They didn’t even sound textbook to me because that is what I was taught, too. And it’s the truth. Volleyball always hurt my hands too much.

    Like

Leave a comment